Song Analysis: Delete

Title: DeleteScreen Shot 2015-05-06 at 7.36.09 pm

Artist: DMA’s

Album: DMA’s – EP

Release Details: Released by I OH YOU in 2014

Genre: Alternative/rock

Tempo: 125bpm

Key: G

Structure: This song is unusual in the way that the 1st verse, pre-chorus and chorus as well as the second verse and pre-chorus are all 16 bars long. At first you assume that you’re hearing a chorus straight after the first verse but even without the lyrics ‘oh fine, the chorus now’ you soon realize that you’re about to hear the actual chorus. I really like this aspect of the song. Another point of interest is that they haven’t included a bridge. Instead, they have what sounds like a bridge but is actually just an alternative chorus with more vocals over the top of the original vocal. The song structure is as follows:

Intro – 8 bars

Verse 1 – 16 bars

Pre-chorus 1 -16 bars

Chorus 1 – 16 bars

Verse 2 – 16 bars

Pre-chorus 2 – 16 bars

Chorus 2 – 12 bars

Alternative Chorus 9 bars

Intro – 8 bars

Instrumentation:

Extraneous noise

Acoustic guitar – panned centre/left, plays combined picking strumming melody.

Verse 1 – 16 bars

Lyrics:

Don’t forget about the stars, the sky
Lucid as the air that blows and light, that shines
Just a way to figure out her when the night is wrong
Take a little wander outside through the rain and snow
Just a way to figure out her

Instrumentation:

Vocals introduced – positioned centre.

Acoustic guitar – same melody as Intro.

Pre-chorus 1 -16 bars

Lyrics:

Don’t delete my baby, don’t defeat her still
In the quiet of nothing, to the hands of grace
Don’t delete my baby, don’t defeat her now
Don’t delete my baby, won’t you always find
Gonna shine a diamond, like you never did
Gonna show you something, I can’t be taught
Don’t delete my baby, I’ll find a chorus now

Instrumentation:

Same vocals

Acoustic Guitar – just strumming different chord progression.

Chorus 1 – 16 bars

Lyrics:

You know that I belong to be, reflections of myself
Let it all out, just let it all out
To fight the feeling

Instrumentation:

Same vocals

Acoustic Guitar – Same chord progression with slightly different strumming pattern.

Verse 2 – 16 bars

Lyrics:

Don’t take it to the one, in mind
Always know it needs her to belong, to find
Know that when I do, and want to face the place
Take a little wander outside, through the rain and snow
Just a way to figure out her

Instrumentation:

Same vocals

Acoustic Guitar – identical to Verse 1

Second Acoustic Guitar – panned right, playing different but complementing chords with a similar but occasionally offbeat strumming pattern (complements other acoustic guitar nicely – adds a bit of texture/depth to song). Adds to build of song.

Pre-chorus 2 – 16 bars

Lyrics:

Don’t defeat my baby, don’t delete her still
In the quiet of nothing, to the hands of grace
Don’t delete my baby, don’t defeat her now
Don’t defeat my baby, won’t you always find
Gonna shine a diamond, like you never did
Gonna show you something, I can’t be taught
Don’t delete my baby, I’ll find a chorus now

Instrumentation:

Identical to Pre-chorus 1 with introduction of low level electric guitar strumming chords with a reverb effect (provides a pad-like effect). Gives an idea of where the song is headed – builds climax.

 

Chorus 2 – 12 bars

Lyrics:

You know that I belong to be, reflections of myself
Let it all out, just let it all out
To fight the feeling coming

Instrumentation:

Identical to Chorus 1 with electric guitar brought drastically forward in mix (standing in front of acoustic guitars). Reverb effect continues.

Bass – plays single note on first beat of each bar.

Tambourine – single hits on 2nd beat of every bar.

Meshes with Alternate Chorus to provide peak of climax.

 

Alternative Chorus 9 bars

Lyrics:

To break, don’t wait
Wait for me tonight, opening the door
Shift horizons in good time
You were there for me, waking in the night
Let it catch you in the fall
I know that you’re right, ease with me tonight
Break the moment in the dawn
You were there for me, waking in the dark
Know I’ll meet you in the fall
I could be the one, you could be divine
Know I’ll feel you in good time
I know that you’re right, ease with me tonight
Break the moment in the dawn
You were there for me, waking in the dark
Not but the one I break, the feeling I take
Everything is starting to wake
You know you more, you’re setting off the score

Instrumentation:

Alternative vocalist sings main lyrics while original vocalist repeats ‘just let it all out’ at even intervals from 2nd bar till until end of 5th bar. This vocal sinks further back intro mix then maintains same level.

Instrumentation continues on from Chorus 2 with the introduction of a drum kit – lots of cymbal hits and a couple of drum rolls.

Bass guitar – plucks single note 8 times per bar then a higher not 8 times per bar. (this repeats with slightly different but very simple plucking patterns over new few bars until end of 5th bar).

References

Delete Chords. (n. d.). Retrieved from http://www.ultimate-tabs.com/dmas/delete-chords

DMA’s – EP. (n. d.). Retrieved from https://itunes.apple.com/au/album/dmas-ep/id813977019

DMA’s – EP [Image] (2014). Retrieved from https://itunes.apple.com/au/album/dmas-ep/id813977019

MUSHROOM PROMOTIONS. (2014). SINGLE BIO: DMA’s – So We Know [I OH YOU]. Retrieved from http://mushroompromotions.com/category/i-oh-you/dmas/dmas-bio/

Leave a Reply

